Department of Treasury and Finance

Anzac Day Commemoration Fund & Council

In April 2005, the South Australian Parliament passed the Anzac Day Commemoration Act 2005, the object of which is to ensure that the contribution of all men and women who have served Australia in time of war or armed conflict, or in international peace-keeping operations, is recognised and commemorated in South Australia. The Act came into operation on 15 March 2007.

The Act establishes both the Anzac Day Commemoration Council and the Anzac Day Commemoration Fund. In addition, the Act limits public sporting and entertainment events on Anzac Day.

Anzac Day Commemoration Fund

The Fund and Council were established in 2007 under the Anzac Day Commemoration Act 2005. The Council is responsible for the distribution of the fund and has developed the guidelines and application process. Grants of up to $10,000 will be available from the Anzac Day Commemoration Fund to support a range of initiatives that focus on educating the community about the significance of Anzac Day and commemorating our nation's military heritage.

Since the first round of the fund (2007/08) a total of 315 South Australian projects have been supported. Highlights include the Bravest of the Brave travelling exhibition, RSL Virtual War Memorial and The First Anzac Day documentary film.

Centenary of Anzac Grant Funding

The period 2014 – 2018 marks 100 years since Australia’s involvement in the First World War and the South Australian Government is offering a total of $350,000 worth in funding grants to assist and support educational and commemorative activities that seek to honour South Australia’s war and service history.
Approved projects could include commemorative events, exhibitions, research, community education activities and the restoration of memorials.
To be considered for funding, applicants must meet the eligibility criteria as outlined in the Anzac Day Commemoration Fund Guidelines and complete the required Application Form.

The 2016-2017 round is now open and will close on Friday, 22 April 2016. Full details including application form and guidelines are available below:-

Successful Recipients of the Anzac Centenary Round 1 Grants here

Anzac Centenary Interactive Website for South Australians

Visit the Anzac Centenary website for South Australia at

This website invites South Australians to contribute their reflections on what the Anzac Centenary means to them. Be part of this state-wide time capsule by adding your story.

Anzac Day Commemoration Council

The Anzac Day Commemoration Council is a statutory body comprising representatives from South Australia's veteran community. The functions of the Council are to keep and administer the Anzac Day Commemoration Fund and to perform such other functions as are assigned to the Council by the Premier.

The Council has nine members appointed by South Australia’s Minister for Veterans Affairs. Veterans SA provides the Council with secretariat support.

The current members of the Anzac Day Commemoration Council are:

  • Malcolm Hyde AO, APM (Presiding Member)
  • Bill Denny AM BM
  • Patrick Beale DSO MC
  • Nichola Kapitza
  • Candida D'Arcy
  • Wendy Engliss
  • Robert Manton
  • Felicity-ann Lewis
  • Benjamin Flink
  • Malcolm McInerney (Deputy Member)

Related Links

For more information contact:

Ms Clare Hennessy

Telephone: (08) 8226 3502

Facsimile: (08) 8226 4040