Department of Treasury and Finance

Unclaimed money

Unclaimed money held by the Department of Treasury and Finance (DTF) is deposited by businesses, government agencies, local councils and many other similar sources, where the head office of the entity is registered in South Australia or does business in South Australia.

Types of unclaimed money held

Unclaimed money collected by DTF includes:

  • dividends (not company shares)
  • deposits
  • refunds
  • unpresented, void or stale cheques
  • deceased estates
  • wages and salaries.  Read more…

Unclaimed money not held


The Australian Securities and Investment Commission is responsible for unclaimed money held by banks, building societies, credit unions, friendly societies, insurance policies and company shares. Read more…


Unclaimed superannuation previously held by the Department of Treasury and Finance in South Australia was transferred to the ATO in September 2014. Read more…

Other states and territories

The Department of Treasury and Finance only administers unclaimed money from companies whose head office is registered in South Australia, or do business in South Australia. Read more…